Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

66 C10 Build with LQ4/4L60E

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2014, 10:40 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 66 C10 Build with LQ4/4L60E

Howdy......new here and thought I might as well make a build thread. I had a 65 SWB as a teen that I built and lately I've had the itch to build another truck. I picked this one up about 6 weeks ago with a 454BB in it. Decided to sell the motor/trans combo and upgrade a bit. I'm trying to make this a relative easy-low budget build. I already have a 69 Camaro in the back that is in 1 million pieces! I'm VERY new to the LS world so pardon my dumb questions....

Plans for this truck are:
Daily driver I can take the kids to school in
6.0 LQ4 (mild cam, headers, heads, intake and much later some forced air)
Disks all the way around
PorterBuilt Stage 2
Creature Comforts: AC, power windows, stereo....ect

Old 09-20-2014, 02:02 PM
Teching In

Excellent build, my in the process of rebuilding my 67 Camaro and putting in a stroked LQ4 and T56 in it but my wife really wants a old truck for herself. I would love to get one and put in a junkyard LQ4/9 and make it a good cruiser but I don't know much about these trucks and putting an LS in them so I look forward to watching your thread.

Rich
Old 09-20-2014, 02:27 PM
Staging Lane

Mounting it looks pretty straight forward.....a set of 1" forward plates with new mounts and a new trans crossmember. Where I start getting lost is the intake/head/Tb swap.
Old 09-20-2014, 08:35 PM
TECH Apprentice

Hi Chris, I finished a 63 C10 Step Side back in June. The owner drives it every day and the truck gets compliments every time it is parked or at stoplights. The build thread is on another site. Google my name and put C10 after it in your search and it should pop up. If you have questions feel free to ask.

Regards,
Old 09-20-2014, 11:01 PM
Staging Lane

awesome! Thank you!
Old 09-21-2014, 10:16 AM
Teching In