Sponsored by:

1991 Volvo 240 Wagon, LR4 Turbobrick

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2014, 10:08 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1991 Volvo 240 Wagon, LR4 Turbobrick

Updated 2/7/2016

Hey guys, new to the LS1Tech forums so i figured i'd post my current build.
I'm a Mechanical Engineer and i've had an idea for a turbo v8 wagon for a long time but never had the time to start a big project. after months of doing research and reading forums i finally made the first step. long story short, in a moment of weakness of wallet, this summer i purchased an LR4 4.8 with low miles at a very good price on Ebay. that purchase started the ball rolling now i'm shamelessly buying car parts because racecar. my main goal for the car is autocross racing but i'm also expecting it to be quite a capable road/drag car.
target horsepower is in the 550 range.

The Car:
1991 Volvo 245 Wagon
with automatic locks and windows *shudders*

The Engine:
LR4 4.8L v8
stage II camshaft from Brian Tooley Racing
homemade methanol injection
Ebay special GT45 turbocharger
Deka 80lb injectors

Transmission:
rebuilt stock 4l60e with transgo-HD2 shift kit
plans are to baby the 4l60e untill i can afford a proper T56. With unforseen startup costs of the build i just couldn't dump too much money into the transmission yet so cue $300 4l60e.

my phone is dead at the moment so i'll post pictures in a little while but here's how the build is going so far.

I bought the engine from a salvage yard and had it freighted to my buisness in Augusta GA.

here is the engine as it was freighted to me. dirt and all

after a little tlc and some nice wrinkle paint