Sponsored by:

6.0 swap into 2001 camaro??

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2015, 06:31 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 6.0 swap into 2001 camaro??

Car originally had a ls1, 4l60

That was pulled along with the harness for a swap into a third gen. Now this car is getting rebuilt with a 6.0 and 4l80e pull out. Just a few questions. Will the truck accessories work under a 4th gen hood? I know they do on a third gen. Any other accessories besides f body that fit? Had I reuse the truck harness or do I need a f body harness? Will the stock a4 shifter bolt up the the 4l80? Is driveshaft different length with a 4l80 from a 4l60?

I'm a newb I know... This is my first swap into a 4th gen and am overwhelmed. I'm a third gen guy..
Old 06-22-2015, 11:07 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 31 Likes on 30 Posts

L99/LS3 5th Gen brackets/accessories will fit (They have Truck spacing & do not require a Balancer change), GTO/G8 brackets are very close also. (4th gen F-body spacing) Truck brackets will not work.

The Truck harness is completely backwards, I tried to modify my '04 5.3L harness....It will not work without ALOT of splicing/rerouting Or new wire & crimping. BP automotive built my harness, I am very happy with it!
Old 06-23-2015, 05:17 AM
TECH Resident

Originally Posted by clinebarger
L99/LS3 5th Gen brackets/accessories will fit (They have Truck spacing & do not require a Balancer change), GTO/G8 brackets are very close also. (4th gen F-body spacing) Truck brackets will not work.

The Truck harness is completely backwards, I tried to modify my '04 5.3L harness....It will not work without ALOT of splicing/rerouting Or new wire & crimping. BP automotive built my harness, I am very happy with it!
Good to know, thanks. I've been looking at the gmpp kit too, I'm thinking that should fit also as it's based on 4 gen f body. 700 bucks though...
Old 06-23-2015, 05:46 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts