Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just got converted, need help

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2015, 01:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just got converted, need help

Hi everyone,

ok background, so i'm new to the new age tech stuff even though i'm in my 20's. I have had a 88 monte carlo ss for about 6 years now. I had to side line it for about 4 of them because i had no time, no place, and/or no money to do anything with it. It has a stock 305 and trans. I recently just got into a position where i can start tinkering with it again and give it some attention. my intention was to rebuild a 350 and drop it in and go from there. However i recently had a conversation with a buddy of mine and he all but squashed those dreams. He basically stated that old school SBC is nice but can't hold a candle to the LS motors for speed and cost. He advised me not to spend my money on a 350 and said i should look into the LS series, then pull one from a junkyard and rebuild it for the monte. So i recently went through the history, took notes and have gotta say he has a point. So i'm looking more and more into this as an option now. I do however need help getting started and have some questions.

1.) which LS do you go with. I'd like to get something that i'm not going to want to replace in a year, something i can build and make some decent power. I know the differences in the LS motors as far as the displacement and which ones are more desired but i'm running on limited funds.

2.) Other than the car vs truck LS mostly being aluminum vs iron with different displacements and intake design are there any other differences or is it all just a difference in the bores a strokes. The question stems from the old school days where car/truck motors had different motor mounts, different head heights, etc. The truck motors seem the most accessible, with swap capabilities from the car LS motors, but is it worth it.