Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS Swap Help

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2015, 09:17 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LS Swap Help

I have a complete 6.0 motor, from intake to AC compressor. I'm not sure what year it came out of but it is the drive by cable. I do not have the wiring harness or computer. I was going to swap it into my 1980 c10 with the carb set up on it but the more i read I'm now debating on trying to go EFI. My question is, is it possible to still keep it fuel injected without the harness, or would it be more expensive than worth while? Is there an aftermarket Plug and play harness kit for what I'm trying to do?

This is my first attempt at a ls swap, and also my first post on here. Any help pointing me in the right direction is sure appreciated. thank you
Old 09-19-2015, 09:48 AM
On The Tree

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If this is going to be a daily driver/cruiser, I'd def keep the fuel inj. It will cost you almost as much to buy the carb setup- (carb, intake, MSD trigger box) as it would to keep efi. You'll need a 411 ECM which can be bought used for under $100 in classified section. I prefer to use Modern Vintage Systems for a harness. You can PM me for their info. I prefer an in-tank pump for the fuel system, as the external setups can have issues. I would think you could work with an 87 EFI tank and just swap the TBI pump to hi pressure style. Scott
Old 09-19-2015, 03:32 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Agee with SS69.. Try and make sure you know what you have to start with. Find out what year that engine is, and what heads are on it... etc.. Cause once you start asking question about something.. the 1st thing we are going to ask you is what you have or starting with.

There are many kit harness on the market as well as plug and play ones. There are a few Sponsors on the forum that you can contact and they will work with you.