Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

LS1 into a 944 discussion.

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2007, 09:43 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default LS1 into a 944 discussion.

My favorite car of all time is the 1987 Porsche 944. (My father bought ours in 1987) I've always loved the body style, and the unbelievable handling. The only thing I think it lacks is in the power department. Cue the LS1.

I would really love to start a 944 LS1 project with a corvette rear end using a purchased chassis with either a high millage engine, or even better, no engine at all. I have a few concerns.

1. Physically mounting the engine, components and rear end. I have no experience in the fabrication of custom parts. I would probably look to an expert for this, especially since it is an aluminum chassis. I would do all work to the components as well as the install, just no fabrication.

1a. I have seen LS1's swapped into the 944 chassis, can it be strengthened enough to withstand 400hp over time? How about the weight?

2. Adapting the LS1 to the Porsche electronics. Obviously the ECM would come from the LS1, but how would I go about connecting all the gauges and such ? Are there any adapter / kits available?

3. Adapting a Corvette transaxle to the porsche gauges / shifter. A custom driveshaft could easily be made if needed.

4. My biggest concern of all is being able to retain (or improve) the handling of the car. I know the LS1 is a beast compared to the little slant 4 in the weight department. Will that weight difference throw off the balance of the car?

Thanks for any and all input,

Matt
Old 09-10-2007, 10:34 PM
TECH Resident