Conversions & Swaps LSX Engines in Non-LSX Vehicles
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone have an LS364 carbed motor?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2007, 09:05 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 32 Likes on 31 Posts

Default Anyone have an LS364 carbed motor?

I'm looking at putting an LS364 motor in my 68 vette. Anyone buy one of these recently? I've got a few questions.
Gary
Old 12-24-2007, 10:06 AM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've got a carbureted LQ4(364) in my 1982 silverado. I did the swap, but I'm still a rookie. There's a few guys on here that have really nice carb setups - TJ, LS1MCSS, Jay_LT4, shawn macananny,LSXs10, and a few others. They've all been helping me with my setup. Good luck.
Old 12-24-2007, 12:25 PM
TECH Junkie

team,
Did you buy it as a crate motor, or adapt it from an efi motor?
Old 12-24-2007, 12:53 PM
DCx
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

its the gm LS364/440 crate engine. (364 ci, 440 hp)

its based off the ls2. i saw on at a car show in the GM booth. its pretty cool. it has a smooth valley tray, gmpp carb intake, coil packs, water pump, balancer, and f body oil pan.

http://www.gmperformanceparts.com/En...2134&engCat=ls

i think its way too much money considering you could get a GTO take out with trans and sell off the FI stuff if you wanted to go carb. i bought an ls1 with no accessories, pcm, or harness. sold the ls6 intake, fuel injectors, and throttle body, it more than paid for my carb intake and msd box.

since that is an LS2 you have to get a different MSD box to control the spark. the LS2 has a different reluctor wheel tooth count.

msd 6ls2 (summit has the wrong picture for the product)
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
Old 12-24-2007, 09:53 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I converted a EFI motor from my 2000 sierra. And like DCx said, you can put that motor together for less than the crate motor price. My motor itself was 1400+300 shipping, and my carb setup(MSD box and intake) was bout 500.