Convertible Vehicles Enthusiasts | Information | Maintenance

Question about convertibles? Dropping the top -- NEW Owner

Old 03-31-2010, 10:31 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Question about convertibles? Dropping the top -- NEW Owner

This might be a stupid question but I just recently bought a 95 z28 convertible over the winter. I'm new to convertibles. I was going to drop the top for the first time tomorrow - Just wondering if theres anything I need to do -- Do I need to take the back glass out?. I know it's a stupid question. But just basically need step by step instructions on what to do. Never owned a convertible before - I would appreciate it very very much
Old 04-01-2010, 08:56 AM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Step 1: Put the car in park (automatic) / Neutral (Manual).
Step 2: Put the parking brake on.
Step 3: Release the 2 latches that hold down the top.
Step 4: Push the button to put the top down.
Step 5: Enjoy.

That's my usual step by step process. No need to remove the rear glass. Hope that helps, and congrats on getting a convertible!
Old 04-01-2010, 10:58 AM
TECH Addict

Received 203 Likes on 161 Posts

Don't ever recall seeing this question before, but now that you mention it.......

The glass is permanently attached to the top, no need to do anything there, just be sure that there is nothing in the top-well (where it folds down into) before you put it down, otherwise the glass could get stressed and potentially break.

While not absolutely necessary, I usually stop my top ~ 4/5s of the way down and then straighten out the top folds and inner liner to help prevent pinching it in the mechanism or stretching. The inner liner (at least on my car) tends to hang-up on the seat-belt towers which results in un-necessary stretching when the top is fully lowered. I push the inner liner backwards away from the belt towers to prevent this before I fully lower the top.