Corvette Performance
C5 | Z06 | C6 | ZR1 | C7

Picked up a 99 C5 with 180K mi

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2011, 10:27 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Picked up a 99 C5 with 180K mi

Hey all. Ive been out of the ls1 scene for a few years but now I'm back. I had a 99 Formula that I had running 10.8x through stock exhaust manifolds and cats, with patriot heads, a cheatR cam and some n20. I ended up buying an 05 viper that I love to death but I still missed my Ls1 so I just picked up a white 99 C5 with believe it or not 180K miles on it. It still runs good too. I imagine I'll have to throw a new ls1 in her before I start modding, but it might be fun to see what it can take first, lol.

Anyways, my old car was an f-body, so I know certain things are different with the vette, not to mention Its been quite some time, so I'm sure Ive missed a lot of great new ideas and products. I'm totally new to this active handling stuff too. Is it garbage or good? I remember my first mod on my F-body was a "direct-flo" lid. Whats the first mod for my C5? What exhausts sound good? Anyways I'm glad to be back here. Theres not nearly as much info out there in the viper world. I remember getting so much good advice here and on Ls1.com...
Old 03-12-2011, 09:20 AM
TECH Senior Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

welcome back to the family. I can give a couple thoughts until the C5 chime in.

Vararam kicks performance butt for an intake on the C6, although the quality can be disappointing.

I doubt the active handling algorithm is the same for the C6 as the C5, but I leave active handling on all the time, but turn off traction control when I want more flexibility. I look at it as safety, not as anything to make me faster. The vette can step out pretty fast. If you were driving a viper and going hard in the twisties without it, then experiment without it on. You can also try competition mode, which is less nanny intervention as an intermediate step.