Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

heading to the track for the first time!

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2006, 02:47 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default heading to the track for the first time!

Hey guys, taking my 02 t/a to the track for the first time this friday. I was hoping you guys could pitch some tips, Its a bone stock M6 except for the LMII cat-back. Im still a little iffy on my launches being that everytime I launch hard I spin the hell out of the tires, so i'm prolly going to have some weak runs

Ive only raced a handfull of cars, from a dig and pissed on all of them such as a couple SRT4s(because their everywhere around here) WRX and an older vette. So I have SOME experience with this kind of thing, just hope I dont make my self look like an *** in front of the friends
Old 08-03-2006, 04:17 PM
12 Second Club

good luck, where u heading???? well be heading up to epping fri night if it doesnt rain.
Old 08-04-2006, 12:02 AM
TECH Regular

try feathering your clutch when you launch instead of just dumping it....
let some air outta your rear tires...
dont floor it if you have no traction,your just gonna end up spinning longer...
im guessing you launching at too high of an rpm...have u tried launching at different rpms...just keep trying new things until you find what suits you best
Old 08-04-2006, 08:45 AM
12 Second Club

Received 51 Likes on 37 Posts

I had decent luck just letting out the clutch and rolling into it after taking off... my 60fts are 2.1 so I know I am not launching great..and I bogged after taking off before I managed to get the car moving along... either way Ive had no problem getting 13.5 @ 105mph over and over again...

Let me know if you figure out any good way to launch that thing.
Old 08-04-2006, 02:42 PM
On The Tree