Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track Data Recording and Analysis

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 09:04 PM
10 Second Club

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Track Data Recording and Analysis

I would like to start a discussion of track data recording and analysis. I am somewhat surprised that this isn’t a routine topic here. I record almost every run using HPTuners Scanner software on my laptop. I typically record engine speed, vehicle speed, throttle position, ignition timing, and air/fuel via my Innovate LM-1 wideband. I keep the number of parameters low in order to maximize the sample rate. I use Microsoft Excel for data display and analysis. Within Excel, I always create an xy scatter chart with elapsed time as the x-axis and engine speed as the y-axis. Other parameters are displayed on the secondary y-axis. I am not an Excel expert and I create my charts manually. This is fairly time-consuming but it is also very flexible and I have not attempted to automate chart-creation via templates. I have found this data to be very helpful, especially for evolving my launch technique. I know my launch rpm exactly and am able to create very good estimates of wheelspin. My charts have exposed an exhaust leak and a slipping clutch. I know when high IAT pulls timing. I have attached a typical worksheet. I chose this particular run, not just because it was my quickest so far, but more because my granny-shifting was less embarrassing than usual.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
Gary Z Data.zip (38.5 KB, 43 views)
Old 10-12-2006, 09:38 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

hmm, what about somehow going a step further and doing it by gear? maybe thats wht the scatter chart is for. i would think you would base it more off of vehicle speed vs et
Old 10-13-2006, 10:08 PM
6 & 8 Second Club