Drag Racing Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

anybody have problems running less than 1/8 tank in F-Body?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2006, 11:18 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default anybody have problems running less than 1/8 tank in F-Body?

It wasn't planned but on my last run of the day, My 99 SS drifted 1/2 point lean in 4th which caused knock and 3.5* of knock retard and ruined my top end. I had just under 1/8 tank, I would have rather had 1/4 but I'm new to F-bodys, does the way the sump is on these things allow it to slip air if you run at the track with less than an 1/8th? Christ the gauge was reading just under 1/4 before I drove it on the trailer so I was pissed when it was at 1/8th when I pulled to the staging lanes? WTF? The first run wasn't an issue the last run, when it displayed under 1/8th it seemed to nose over?

anybody else get bit by this?
Old 10-15-2006, 02:55 AM
10 Second Club

yea i have noticed it on mine playing around in town and such. if it gets around <1/8 it will kinda spudder a little in all the wrong places. i happened to catch it before i ever ran it at the track that low though.
Old 10-15-2006, 04:43 PM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the gauges are off..
over full is a full tank...
full tank is really 3/4
3/4 tank is lil over half
half is a 1/4
a 1/4 is about a gallon
Old 10-16-2006, 02:32 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

i've noticed below 1/8 my car will sputter some too. i would'nt dare to spray it with that low of gas.
Old 10-16-2006, 08:23 PM
Staging Lane

I figured out my problem, it wasn't the gas level even though after hearing you guys I won't be running with less than 1/4 to 1/8+ ever again. The car never bucked, just went 1/2 point lean in the middle of 1/4 gear, started a perfect 13.0 and then went to 13.5 which caused some knock retard because I had the timing setup at the max (28.5) for 13.0 and good gas.