Eastern Members CT, DE, NH, NJ, NY, MA, ME, MD, PA, RI, VT, VA, WV

Just curious: is there anyone else here in the military or will be in the military?

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2010, 01:29 PM
TECH Resident

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Just curious: is there anyone else here in the military or will be in the military?

I am a degreed accountant who contracted with the U.S. Army in late August 2009 to be Active Duty for 3-years and Reserve for 5-years. I am looking forward to testing my physical fitness and to hopefully (and successfully) lead solders through battles depicted in Black Hawk Down. My ultimate goal is to be a Commissioned Officer for the U.S. Army Infantry and to deploy in any dangerous hot zone this exciting planet has to offer.

I am temporarily leaving my originally-owned vehicles, a 2002 Z28 and a 2006 GTO, to my very mature 17-year old little brother in Southern New Jersey. My last day of work as an accountant is Friday, March 5. I leave for warm-weathered Fort Benning, GA, on Tuesday, March 9, where at least 12 weeks of Basic Combat Training and 9 weeks of Officer Candidate School await me. I am anxious and excited at the same time. Presently, I think being rational, logical, unemotional, obedient, and having the ability to leave one's conscience out the door will be the qualities that will make any Soldier successful.

Is anyone else here in the military (or will be joining the military)? If so, then what service are you in? What's your rank and position? Where are you stationed? Why did you join the military?

Thanks in advance for the info.
Old 02-27-2010, 01:39 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

im in NROTC so im a Midshipmen, only advice i can think of right now would be to keep an open mind and have a positive attitude.
Old 02-27-2010, 01:48 PM
TECH Fanatic