Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

5.3 a better match to twin GT2871R's than 5.7?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2008, 09:11 AM
TECH Resident

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default 5.3 a better match to twin GT2871R's than 5.7?

Just curious if a 5.3 would be a better match to these small turbos that come with the Incon kit.

I have access to a 5.3, and have considered going that route instead of using the LS1.

Im fairly new to the FI world... but it seems bigger isn't always better. I see a lot a guy doing 366-370ci combos vs going with 408's... and that within reason any turbo will make MORE power on a smaller displacement motor, all else being equal.

I just want to get the most out of this kit, and it seems like most agree that these kits were never designed to go on motors any larger than stock CI due to how much back pressure it would create. Would a smaller that stock CI motor make more power on these somewhat small turbos.

Im not looking to set the world on fire with this setup, i just want a really nicely done street car that is fun to drive. Harlan made ~700rwhp with the exact same turbos and kit that i have. Others have sent the turbos off and upgraded the CHRA's, and made well over 800. I believe they flow 54lbs one upgraded... so should be able to make 1080 at the cank in theory. On a 5.3 mated with a 6-speed im wondering if i could get over the 900rwhp mark.

My other car currently has a really nice set of TEA 5.3 heads that i have considered replacing and using them instead on my Trans Am. They flowed 33X@.600 on TEA's bench and flowed 328@600 on Bischofs bench. I think they would work great on the 5.3 turbo motor.

Basicly the motor combo i have in mind:
5.3 Iron Truck Block
Stock Crank
Eagle Rods
Diamond Dished Pistons (whatever CC necessary to achieve about 9:1)

TEA 5.3 Heads
Turbo Friendly Cam
Vic Jr Intake (already have it and was port matched to 5.3's i plan on using).