Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

My TRUE cost of FI

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2009, 12:16 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default My TRUE cost of FI

I know these type of threads rarely ever pop up on here as most are technical or decision oriented in their nature, but this is just something I have been needing to get of my chest for some time.
I think my fascination with superchargers began very early on for me with my first viewing of Mad Max at probably around age 9. I could not get over that awesome sound and that rush of power that came with it. When I got my first car at age 17(1995 camaro Z28), I would look at the small Vortech adds in superchevy and wonder, what would that be like on my car. Every summer my high school year I worked as an electrician assistant, but the most I could ever muster was $1600; not even enough for a used unit at the time.
Fast forward to 2007, I was 24 at the time and had all but given up on my personal car goal of having a supercharger. That is until a close friend of mine sold me his vortech kit off his 5.0 mustang for $800. Now I would never lower myself to owning a mustang , but I knew I could double my money back and hopefully acquire a kit for the SS I had been working on. I did just that by putting the kit on ebay. I soon added a little with it and purchased a used G-trim vortech kit from another member here on ls1tech. I knew little about it when I purchased but after reading that I needed to cut the freshly painted hood on my SS, I knew it had to go so that I could hopefully purchase a procharger. I put this kit up on ebay as I had a lot of success with it in the past, and it went quickly. I felt great about it, that is until I got a call for the buyer saying that I had shorted him the crankpulley for the kit. After purchasing it for him, all of my profits were gone from this latest purchase, and my goal of owning a supercharger was farther away then ever.