Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Noob to FI, question about blocks

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 12:08 AM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob to FI, question about blocks

I have a chance to get my hands on a turbo kit, and possibly a 5.3 motor. My question is it better or safer to turbo a 5.3 block or my ls1? My ls has racked up some miles on it. And I just always here how the iron block is better for boost. I wouldnt be running large amounts of boost, I would just like to keep it low for now. I currently just have a cam only car and supporting mods, and it has over 100k on the block. What can the internals on the 5.3 hold? I would be upgrading the fuel system on the 5.3 if I was to get it. Take it easy on me I am new to this section
Old 07-13-2009, 12:54 AM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

If you're not going big boost the aluminums are fine. I assume you're gonna change the pistons and go forged pistons, so the block will be looked at and inspected while you're at it.
But heck, get the 5.3 just because it'll be newer and its cheap.

Iron is defintiely the better choice when you build a big fella.

Old 07-13-2009, 01:15 AM
11 Second Club

what kind of pistons are in the 5.3 blocks? I am trying to go the safest and cheapest route. Could I make more power on the truck block(stock pistons etc) compared to what I have now?
Old 07-13-2009, 01:30 AM
11 Second Club

also, if I am VERY conservative on the boost is it possible to avoid a lot of the problems I hear of people having?
Old 07-13-2009, 09:46 AM
11 Second Club

c'mon. someone please. I have a buddy coming over with a kit later for me to look at and decide if I want to get
Old 07-13-2009, 11:47 AM
TECH Fanatic