Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Converter stall speed vs spool up

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 09:25 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Converter stall speed vs spool up

I have used the search feature and have found members with many different thoughts in rule or theory on stall speed vs spool up. None decisive as to rule of thumb! OH! By the way, sorry this is a long post but I did not know how to get answers otherwise. I am no expert by any imagination. Just trying to learn!

First, I would like to assume the subject vehicle will be 650 -750 hp & 95% street driven low compression turbo 408. The goal is to maximize performance via Torque Converter (spool up).
I am naturally interested in optimizing my own vehicle (setup as in sig below) but also in others opinion from real world experience with their own setups. I will post this in Performance Truck forum also.

Further let’s assume all things being equal as far as set up, exhaust, fairly aggressive cam, 4l80e, turbo, triple disk same manufacturer converter where lock up will not be a problem, weight, etc. Also assume flash and brake stall to be equal in rpm.
And most importantly, NO TRACTION ISSUES to deal with.

To over exaggerate the scenario assume stock 4l80e converter @1800 VS quality aftermarket 4000 rpm stall converter.

I have always believed as rpm increases so does torque output to a point of max. ie. Lower RPM less HP, higher RPM more HP as a generalization.

Even though you may be able to get 3-5 lbs boost on the stock unit @ 1800 RPMs heck even double the engines output with 15 lbs. My thinking is the overall power output at this relatively low RPM should be MUCH less than that obtained from the same engine at 4000 RPMs at the same boost level. Is this correct or is there a bust in my thinking?
Also assume the time it takes to reach each stall RPM is equal, (1,800 vs. 4,000)