Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

KYTP setup

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-2009, 04:15 PM
11 Second Club

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default KYTP setup

Hello all, I need some opinions, sorry for the long post

I'm currently saving up cash to blow on a Kentucky Turbo setup for the Camaro. Going to be LQ9 based, with forged rods, dished pistons, ARP rod bolts, turbo cam (lingenfelter or custom grind). 78mm Turbonetics turbo unit. Air to Air intercooler for now (or for good, not sure at this point in time because I'm a noob to this stuff).

Would be looking at a ~9.5:1 compression ratio after all is said and done.

Edit: Not sure on fuel system other than mototron 60#, but it looks like twin walboro pumps would get the job done

Tranny would be given full race consideration by local transmission builder. As such, boost would be limited to what the fully built 4L60E would hold without exploding on me.

I would probably go with the 12 bolt setup as I have seen the kind of horsepower those hold up to on autos, so I'm not REALLY sold on a 9 inch.

This system would keep AC only because I would get custom made exhaust manifolds to accommodate. The only real fabrication/ingenuity would be in mounting different radiator and mounting the intercooler. For exhaust back, I would probably go towards something custom, 4" single chambered muffler, over the axle.

I'm doing this mainly because I don't want to mess around with filling nitrous bottles, and a supercharger application isn't too appealing either (I want a little bit of traction without resorting to a two step). I think I can budget this build fairly well, and this would definitely be a year and a half plus down the road (after college project). The N/A setup is AWESOME, but I can already tell I am going to want something ridiculous in a few years, and 500 to the wheels doesn't seem like it's going to cut it.