Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Install supercharger myself??

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2010, 12:47 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Install supercharger myself??

I want to add some Hp to my LS3 and have decided on the ECS SC600 package.

I was quoted $2100 to have it installed and tuned which I don't feel is a bad price but they want another 500 to install the headers (thought that was a little high), he said 5-6 hours to install headers.

So my question is, should I try the install myself?

I am no mechanic but I think I have all the neccassery tools to get the job done. My biggest concerns are:

1) I have never installed a supercharger before and niether has the guy that would be helping me.
2) I do not have a lift, would have to do everything off of jack stands.
3) There are a few steps like pinning the crank that also have me wondering if I should try it.

So what do you guys think, have any of you installed your own supercharger kit without ever having done it before??

Any input or advice is appreciated.

Thanks
Old 12-05-2010, 01:34 PM
TECH Resident

a lift definitely makes the header install easier...my dad has a four post lift in his garage I used and it was still a royal pain. Im of the belief that as long as I have a decent set of instructions, I can do just about anything. That being said, if you have $2k to spare and dont want the hassle, paying someone may be the way to go. Im a tightwad, so Id see that $2k in labor as a a nice set of heads or a 9" rear end or something.
Old 12-05-2010, 04:16 PM
TECH Resident

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts