Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Carwash Issues?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2013, 11:35 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Carwash Issues?

Hi,
I'm new to the forced induction realm...
Although I'm not beyond hand-washing my car from here on out, I was wondering if anybody had any qualms about taking their car through an automatic carwash, with or without the underbody spray?
(If equipped with an F-Body Procharger Setup...and possibly a "Big Red" valve added onto the Y-Pipe).
Seems like an absolute "DO NOT DO THIS!!!" to me, but I was just wondering if procharger took this possibility into account when designing their setup?

Thanks in advance!
Old 06-12-2013, 12:48 AM
12 Second Club

Legit question,however a drive thru car wash is the last thing id take my car thru.id recommend hand washing only.those brushes wreak havoc on paint and partly cause swirl marks.other option find a detail shop you can trust that does hand washes.this is what I do with my cars.
Old 06-12-2013, 04:40 AM
On The Tree

Originally Posted by stangtrader
Legit question,however a drive thru car wash is the last thing id take my car thru.id recommend hand washing only.those brushes wreak havoc on paint and partly cause swirl marks.other option find a detail shop you can trust that does hand washes.this is what I do with my cars.
Believe me, I'd NEVER take mine to a "brushed" automatic carwash for those exact reasons. I've only used the touchless autos between handwashes to keep it looking good on the quick.
My concern is water getting into the intake or bypass valve of a Procharger system if I used one with the underbody wash...
Old 06-12-2013, 11:57 AM
TECH Addict

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think that if your car was off (and not sucking in air), and that there was absolutely no water spraying from underneath the car, (like in a touchless carwash), that you should be fine.