Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Stainless Procharger J Bracket

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2013, 12:25 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stainless Procharger J Bracket

Ok, so...I'm a master machinist by trade, and I have all the respect in the world for the Procharger headunit's quality and engineering.

BUT...The same cannot be said about their crappy aluminum J-Bracket!

So....I'm considering making a run of perfectly fitting "facsimile" J-Brackets, out of Billet 303 Stainless Steel to put up on here to sell.
The reason I say "facsimile" is because there will be a few thousandths difference between theirs and mine - and mine will be superior in parallelism and location tolerances. I also plan to put in a metric, or fine pitch standard thread for the tensioner bolt to prevent stripping.

I'm just getting a feeler for the market on here, so no obligations, and I'm not taking orders yet...but, IF I did make these, how many of you would be interested in one if it were priced at around $200, shipped anywhere in the lower 48?
Or, $350 - complete with your choice of a 6 or 8 rib idler and all stainless hardware?

303 Stainless Steel Material Notes:
*303 Stainless WILL NOT rust!
*303 Stainless has far superior strength compared to aluminum.
*Aside from popular belief, it will be slightly weaker than a carbon steel bracket, such as the one made by "Trutech".

And finally....yes, I am aware of the "Aster" bracket. And NO, I will not make one like his design. In regards to belt-slippage issues, his is about as good as one could hope for (and the $750 price tag certainly reflects it). I'm simply looking to make a better, AND cheaper alternative to the standard J-Bracket.
Old 06-12-2013, 06:16 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 63 Likes on 51 Posts

i will not buy one sorry , i have an sdce setup and it has a brace at the bottom of it . But its not worth the extra weight and cost for me .

Just wanted to give you an answer .