Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Need a little input...

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2013, 08:21 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a little input...

So I'm a new member to the forum. However i have been lurking and reading builds for quite a while. I have been working on my s10 project for about 2 years now piecing it together slowly. The overall goal of the truck is to run low 10's to high 9's in the 1/4 mile and still be streetable enough to drive to work on occasion in the warmer months.

This is my setup so far.

lq4 - stock bottom end other than arp bolts
ls9 oil pump
ls2 timing chain
cam - duration int. 286 ex. 286 @.050 int. 235 ex. 235 lift intake.651 ex .651
317 heads with double valvesprings - ebay head studs
edlebrock pro-flo xt intake
edlebrock fuel rails
102mm throttlebody
4l80
ford 8.8

My original plan was to run a single on3 88mm turbo. But now Im thinking i may want to go with twin on3 70's. I feel going with the smaller twins it should spool a little faster and make it a little more fun on the street. I think the cam I went with may be a little big and going with a slower spooling turbo is just going to make things worse.

Im also trying to figure out injector size and stall size. Im really hoping to finish this project or at least get it running over this winter.

forgot to mention i will be running pump gas most of the time which around my area is 91oct. i will be running 110oct at the track.

Old 10-29-2013, 10:11 PM
On The Tree

Cam does seem pretty big, but you might get away with twins. They can use a cam profile closer to a N/A engine. Mine is 236/239 .598/.610 112+6
My twins spool instantaneously with a 3200 stall and will make 800+rwhp as soon as I get a converter that holds. I'm using 1000cc high impedence bosch injectors with twin 044 pumps.
Old 10-30-2013, 01:50 PM
Teching In

Thanks calypso. What turbos are you running? What are you using for a convertor now?