Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

stock 5.3 bottom end

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2014, 11:13 AM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stock 5.3 bottom end

im building a turbo 5.3 single cam,springs,headwork,and push rods is there im going to tune it around 750 80lbs injectors is there anything else I need to do ? Do I need to do any thing to the bottom end ?
Old 01-14-2014, 11:59 AM
Launching!

From the research I've been doing (I'm new to the boosted 5.3 as well) it seems the bottom end is fine up to maybe 15lbs to be safe. Even though there are PLENTY of guys running 20+lbs of boost and seem to be running fine. Just depends on how hard you're going to be on the motor. Weekend warrior or race car at the track, ect, all come into play.

Im building a forged pistons and rods in my 5.3 to be safe bc I want to run 20lbs of boost and be safe around town and the occasional track pass.
Old 01-14-2014, 12:10 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I've never messed anything up on the bottom end I've either blown head gaskets or bent rods because of water In the cylinder. It all depends on your budget and what your trying to accomplish I say run it stock me and plenty others have had goodluck even on high boost.
Old 01-14-2014, 01:05 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Power is not measured by boost alone. There can be a 200 HP difference at 15 psi between 2 different turbos. Why do so many use it as the MAIN factor in determining pretty much everything?
Old 01-14-2014, 01:09 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Originally Posted by HexenLord
Power is not measured by boost alone. There can be a 200 HP difference at 15 psi between 2 different turbos. Why do so many use it as the MAIN factor in determining pretty much everything?
I agree completly I see that alot on here.
Old 01-14-2014, 01:18 PM
Launching!