Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Wastegate Spring Question

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2014, 02:53 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wastegate Spring Question

I popped open the wastegate on my car to see what spring were run in it (I didn't build it, but I am correcting it ) It currently has 2 springs a large red and a small green. I am still learning FI so I am wanting to get some input. Currently it is running a manual boost controller set for around 8 lbs. I will be installing a truboost. If I am correct being a 44mm wastegate this means I am right around 16lbs of spring pressure. Is it better to drop to just the small green spring or use both and use the truboost to control it?
Old 03-26-2014, 03:24 PM
Teching In

I have read a few posts that state just slap the 7lb spring in there and that is all you need but, I wanted to verify before making any changes.
Old 03-26-2014, 05:49 PM
Staging Lane

yes your correct most of the time you can make 2-2 1/2 times the waste spring with a manual contoller
Old 03-26-2014, 06:50 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by LCR Camaro
yes your correct most of the time you can make 2-2 1/2 times the waste spring with a manual contoller
Thank you for your insight.

Now to find someone that would like to sell their blue spring! lol
Old 03-26-2014, 08:03 PM
9 Second Club

Received 178 Likes on 154 Posts

Originally Posted by Plastikk
I popped open the wastegate on my car to see what spring were run in it (I didn't build it, but I am correcting it ) It currently has 2 springs a large red and a small green. I am still learning FI so I am wanting to get some input. Currently it is running a manual boost controller set for around 8 lbs. I will be installing a truboost. If I am correct being a 44mm wastegate this means I am right around 16lbs of spring pressure. Is it better to drop to just the small green spring or use both and use the truboost to control it?