Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Tore down 5.3 for turbo, LOOK OK??

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2014, 01:31 PM
On The Tree

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tore down 5.3 for turbo, LOOK OK??

I posted this in Gen III internal engine but no responses. Hoping for more info over here.

Last night my friend and I put in a brian tooley stage II cam in a 5.3 I got from a junkyard. After that we pulled the heads so i can install brian tooley Springs and also to put in new head studs and an ls9 gasket. We were surprised to see the passenger side push rods in great shape but the driver side were black color. Almost like they were burnt. The motor has about 130k on the clock.

There is a good deal of carbon buildup in the heads and cylinders, I don't think it is out of the ordinary for the mileage, but I am also not an expert on this stuff. Here are pics of the cylinders and pushrods. As you can see some are clean looking and the others are black.

Can anyone here tell me if I need to be concerned about this. Is there something else I should look at like the lifter?? Why would one sides pushrods looks great and the other look so black??

Also I should note that the old gasket in the drivers side had gunk clogging up some of the coolant passages. I'm going to flush all that out. Any tips on best way to do that??
Attached Thumbnails Tore down 5.3 for turbo, LOOK OK??-20140425_084033.jpg   Tore down 5.3 for turbo, LOOK OK??-20140424_202944.jpg   Tore down 5.3 for turbo, LOOK OK??-20140424_202954.jpg  
Old 04-25-2014, 02:40 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Looked just like mine.. If it's out of the car why not disassemble and and put in new bearings.. Kings performance is what I got and was less then 120 I think for rod and main.. then u can also properly gap the rings..
Old 04-25-2014, 02:55 PM
11 Second Club

I just took a wire brush pad and cleaned all the carbon off the pistons. At 130k, I wouldn't even touch the rings.