Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Help! Twin Turbo TA heating issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2014, 12:17 AM
On The Tree

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Help! Twin Turbo TA heating issues

Not sure if this is the right place to post this?
Im no newbie to the LS1 engine but I am a bit of one when it comes to boosted LS1's. I have a 2002 TA with the APS twin turbo system. Both the turbo's and the intercooler have been upgraded.
My question is this: what type of coolant temperatures are you guys seeing out of normal everyday driving with twins? I'm not sure how accurate my temp gauge is but I hover right at 210. Would meth help? Or would meth not even help under normal stop and go driving. The car is not my daily but i do take it out occasionally. I have several Aeroforce Interceptor gauges that should be here in a few days. Hopefully they will give me better temperature readings. Any and all suggestions on how to keep temps down would be much appreciated! Thanks
Old 08-02-2014, 06:23 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

The stock temp gauge on mine would be in the middle (210) from 180ish till around 230 before it starts going any higher. They are not very accurate. I monitored with a scan tool on mine when testing to get exact reading. Do you have a stock radiator? I ran stock on my single s475 setup with pusher fans and it ran around 217 normal driving so I switched to a smaller but thicker aftermarket radiator and temps never seen over 190s after that even on a hot day. I had thermostat removed also. Meth is not gonna help over heating. You wouldn't be using it anyway unless you in the throttle.
Old 08-02-2014, 06:45 AM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 59 Likes on 44 Posts