Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Twin s366 Questions, Among Other Things

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2014, 08:34 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Twin s366 Questions, Among Other Things

Hello people, I got a project car. It is a 1967 Chevy Caprice. Being a minnesota car, it needs some sheet metal work. I plan to get that all done over the first half of winter. I have plans for a cage, but dont think that will happen this winter, just too much to do.
As far as drive train...I plan on a 6.0 LS, TH400, and a 12 bolt with spool.
I am brand new to this LS business, so I will be asking a lot of questions and will need as many answers for dummies as possible.
I have heard all sorts of different things about what a stock, junkyard LS bottom end can handle. A friend of mine just did 741 with his 6.0, gt45 on e85 (track times to come in a few weeks) and his is completely stock accept for valve springs, head studs, and a custom ground cam. I have heard people say the stock rods would be good for 500, I have heard 1000...what to believe?
So that will take me to my next question...I would like to do twin BW s366, with a custom cam, valve springs, studs, and a blow through carb e85. Would that be to much for a stock ls?
Also curious about carb vs fuel injection. Is that way more complex, or not really?
As for intercooler, are people going air to water, or just air?
Waste gates and BOV? What seems to be the hot ticket?
I know that I will have a lot more questions, but this is a start at least!

Thanks in advance,

John

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 08-22-2014, 09:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts