Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

ProCharged Marine LS motor help

Old 09-08-2014, 08:27 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ProCharged Marine LS motor help

Ok guys, I need some help here. I am pretty new to the LS motor thing and could use some advice. I am currently putting together a LS motor for my boat. It's going to be a 6.0 based motor with LS1 fuel injection. The ProCharger is a M1SC head unit with a AW-504 water to air cooler. These are the specs on the head unit

Max Flow 1400cfm
Max RPM 57,000 rpm
Internal Step-Up 4.10:1

As you can tell by the RPM's, I'm not gonna be spinning the motor very hard. I figure about 5700-5800. Which will work fine since the big block that's in it now only spins to 4800, and I am going to have a custom cam ground to keep my power band in that range. I plan on running 7-10psi.

Now, here is my main question. I have been looking for a LQ4, and at my local machine shop I came across one that is a complete fresh rebuild that seems to be a really good deal. It is a stock crank, stock rods with ARP rod bolts and has been bored .030 over with forged pistons. The only issue is, instead of dishes pistons, they used flat tops. I'm a little concerned about the compression with running boost. I this a motor I should consider? Or should I keep looking for a lower compression LQ4?

If I do go with this motor, I have two sets of heads setting here that I can use. A set of 806's and a set of 799's, which ones would you use?

Just an FYI, I'm not looking to make HUGE power with this motor. I would like to see 550-600 at the flywheel, which from reading on here, doesn't seem like to much of a reach.

Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated!!
Old 09-09-2014, 11:43 AM
Teching In

Nobody? Really?
Old 09-09-2014, 12:01 PM
LS1Tech Sponsor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts