Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

first build thread! rise of the War Chicken!

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 10:50 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3rd gen firebird 408 and 6 speed build

well this is my first build thread and it might be a slow one but i figured this might help me get my *** in gear and get this thing back on the road! so some background on the car. this was my first car my mom gave it to me when i turned 16 she bought it brand new back in 1990. and from day one i was trying to make it fast. looking back i probably should have left it stock all original car with only 57k when i got it now has 87k and going on its third engine and trany.

so now for the car its a 1990 firebird formula t top and stick with a gm 9 bolt rear end with disc brakes we'll see how long that holds up this time around the last engine i built for it was a 355 with little knowledge of how to actually put an engine together i got lucky to say the least and it actually ran strong for a few years took me all the way threw collage at NTI that being said this time around i have quite a bit more confidence in building this engine and making a little more power well a lot more power.

now time for the build the old 355 and t56 came out about 2 years ago and the car has just been sitting in my driveway waiting for the ls sitting in the garage hoping to hit 1000hp in the future but would be more than happy with 700 or so car is mostly a street car and will be running e85 90% of the time unless i take it out of town. then 93 would be used for the trip with little to no beating on the car.

engine:
-6.0 cast iron summit racing block .030 over and cleared for a 4 inch stroke
(we'll see how long this lasts not sure if i like the machine work or not)
-just ordered a rotating assembly from texas speed (callies dragon slayer wet sump, callies ultra i beam rods, wiseco 32cc dish pistons with tool steel wrist pins)
-heads are tfs genx 255's