Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Lsx s475 car overheating need help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2015, 03:19 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lsx s475 car overheating need help!!!

Okay guys i need some major help. So currently im on vacation and figured id toss this post up in hopes that by the time i get back ill have some stuff i can try. So onto my issues.

Just got done with my lr4 s475 th400 combo in my 97 camaro. Its overheating pretty bad. First, im 99% sure its bled right. I have the proper funnels and air bleeders to bleed cooling systems. ( i do this for a living) .

First time we took it out, it ran fairly cool ( 95 degree day, 220 after 1 mile and stayed there ir close to it) second time same thing. We now seem to be having some major issues. Third time we spiked 235 on the highway so i shut it down and let it cool and got it home. Since then we have done what's listed below and took the same drive and got it to run 216 highway and spiking 225 in traffic. I dont like that. Heres what we did so far:

Checked for air pockets

Moved rad forward away from turbo

Removed front fan shroud on the pushers in hopes we had blocked air from passing through

We drilled holes in the bumper underneath since it blocks flow to the rad. ( we cut 5 2.5" holes)

Tried water wetter

Thats pretty much all we tried. Now, go add to my syptoms, we have a lower rad hose with the spring in it. It seems to be bulging.

Any help is greatly appreciated at this point. Ill post pictures below of setup.

-Cody
Old 08-03-2015, 03:28 PM
Staging Lane

Old 08-03-2015, 03:37 PM
Launching!

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Get the air splitter back under the radiator. It'll help a ton.
Old 08-03-2015, 03:47 PM
Staging Lane

Air damn may help going down the road but at a stop its not going to help my situation. I can build one but cant run the oem one since i built a tube front and have no oem support
Old 08-03-2015, 04:28 PM
TECH Regular