Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Help me understand this.....spraying Meth after the MAF......

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2017, 02:34 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Default Help me understand this.....spraying Meth after the MAF......

YES.....I'm new to all of this boost stuff. As soon as my *** gets back from the damn Middle East in 3-4 months......my Huron Speed A/C single turbo kit is going in.....
All I have to order is the S485 with 96 mm turbine, Bell 4.5" FMIC and Fuel system.......I have everything else needed for the complete install. It will be on my 390ci at 10.8:1 compression and full time E85 through a 4L80E. With everything else you see in my sig as supporting components.

-----I am told that Meth is sprayed after the MAF.

QUESTION:
If Meth is sprayed AFTER the MAF, why does it not mess up the air/fuel data that the MAF has figured out and sent to the PCM for the amount of fuel to spray?

The meth makes the air cooler after the MAF, which means its more dense.......but the data sent to the PCM by the MAF has read a different air density.

SO....wouldn't the best place to spray Meth at a position immediately after the air charge leaves the FMIC on the way to the MAF......?

Thanks......

Old 02-07-2017, 02:43 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts

The stock ECU has no way of knowing what meth is. In most turbo application the MAF is eliminated and the PCM is tuned using a speed density algorithm. Spraying meth on a MAF would not work out very well I'm sure. So, if you are set on running a MAF and meth, do it after the MAF. And yes, adding meth will cause a richer A/F reading.
Old 02-07-2017, 04:48 PM
Banned

Originally Posted by svslow