Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Help with knock above 10lbs of boost

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2017, 03:32 AM
9 Second Club

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Default Help with knock above 10lbs of boost

Hey guys, just got my car tuned and the tuner said no matter what he did i was getting knock above 10 psi. I'd like some opinions on how to fix this, i'm thinking my hotside is too small at 2 inches, but i'm new to turbos

my setup

5.3 stock other than pac 1218 springs

truck manifolds 2 in hotside into a t4 vs racing denmah kit gt 45 69mm

3 inch intercooler

walbro 450, deka 60s, 1-1 rate fpr

br7ef out of the box gap (.024 /.025 )

if i mised any info just ask, i'll add it.

Just want to head in the right direction before i throw money at dyno sessions that **** aint cheap lol

thanks in advance
Old 03-07-2017, 03:35 AM
9 Second Club

Oh 93 octane pump gas also
Old 03-07-2017, 04:17 AM
9 Second Club

Received 179 Likes on 154 Posts

And exactly how was he determining "knock" ?

What compression, timing, AFR's etc etc ?

Surely your tuner had some input as to what might be the problem or need changed ?
Old 03-07-2017, 04:27 AM
9 Second Club

I don't know, honestly. I am new to turbos and tuning so bear with me here. He was thinking hotside too or the turbo itself having too small of exhaust size. I have hp tuners and am trying to learn how to datalog so i can put some. I just thought something in my setup might be an immediate red flag to somebody....
Old 03-07-2017, 04:30 AM
9 Second Club

It doesnt really answer the question, the most important of which is exactly how was he determining knock ?

It seems far too many just blindly and naively watch knock sensors...which are simply microphones that hear all noises.

And if it's a turbo kit that works for others, that would rule out such thoughts.
Old 03-07-2017, 04:35 AM
9 Second Club

I'll have to check with him and report back. And i agree, this is why i posted here