Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

vortech help

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2005, 09:25 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default vortech help

I have a 2002 trans am that I bought with a vortech supercharger on it with charge cooler already installed. I took it to a local speed shop and was told the highest boost it made was 5 pounds. Does that sound right? I am not a mechanic by no means so any help will be great. The car has 10,000 miles on it headers,borla exh, hi flo cats if any of that matters. I am really worried about hurting the motor since I do not have the original programing. Should I buy the diablo setup? And what should I do to get some boost out of this to compare to the turbos like sts power? sorry so long of a post im new to this thanks
Old 07-20-2005, 09:37 PM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Vortech rates that kit with stock manifolds at 9PSI. Having the longtubes should drop the PSI but retain the power (this is a good thing). You shouldn't worry about how many PSI you are seeing but more so how much HP you are making and the speed you are spinning the blower to. I used to own the kit you are talking about but never installed it due to the small head unit. The vortech g trims are good for high 500ish RWHP (i think).

Greg
Old 07-20-2005, 09:43 PM
TECH Apprentice

So should it drop it down to 5 pounds? from 9? and Should I buy a pully to up the boost or leave it alone? I am really confused about this because I dont feel the boost like in a turbo car or like even in my wifes saturn ion redline. It feels like a constant pull through the rpms , no change. thanks for the help
Old 07-20-2005, 09:45 PM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I saw 6-7 lbs. stock (not the nine claimed). I know I'm not the only one. I would put a 2.75 pulley on it and have it dyno tuned.
Old 07-20-2005, 09:49 PM
TECH Apprentice

So Diablo tune or something else. And dyno. I hope it at least hits 450 hp.