Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Race turbo setup, questions...

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2006, 03:35 PM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Race turbo setup, questions...

After blowing my stock shortblock, I've been exploring all the options for a new engine. Originally I planned to build a solid roller/nitrous car but a turbo seems very appealling. I will be building a forged 408 iron block. The car will see some occasional street use, but will primarily be a track car. It will have No a/c or p/s so I'll have plenty of room to play with.

I've been researching my options for a few days, but I really have no idea about what or who to deal with. I'm assuming I will go with a large single, and would like to make atleast 900 rwhp. Would an air to water intercooler be best? Does anyone make the hot side parts in a kit to support this? What size turbo would reach my goal? I'm a newb when it comes to turbos, so any advice would be appreciated.
Old 06-11-2006, 03:47 PM
TECH Addict

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

on a race car you may be better off having a custom tubular header set fabricated for you because most kits off the shelf route around lots of stuff like ac and ps. The cost of labor for welding a hot side set is around 1000-1500 and parts cost is around 1000 for SS.

As for the turbo you should probably talk to forced inductions if your serious, they will recomend a perfect turbo for your setup.
Old 06-11-2006, 07:44 PM
FormerVendor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by 5LTREATR
After blowing my stock shortblock, I've been exploring all the options for a new engine. Originally I planned to build a solid roller/nitrous car but a turbo seems very appealling. I will be building a forged 408 iron block. The car will see some occasional street use, but will primarily be a track car. It will have No a/c or p/s so I'll have plenty of room to play with.