Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Summit Ghost Cam. Power limit on boost? Kind of a what will it make thread??

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2023, 06:33 PM
TECH Enthusiast

Received 233 Likes on 162 Posts

Default Summit Ghost Cam. Power limit on boost? Kind of a what will it make thread??

Don't get me wrong, I know there's a **** ton of variables to this. In general I'm curious what some of the top numbers guys have made or even track times especially with the 8715R1 Ghost cam?

I'd be dumb to say that I'm not leaving a fair amount of power on the table with this cam (especially for the size displacement), but at the end of the day I know that the drivability of this cam paired with a manual trans is such a pleasure to drive over my previous cam. This makes it all worthwhile. It is a street car at the end of the day. I have been driving this combo around for 6 months now and it is super fun and easy to drive. My wife can drive it no problems.

Car is an early C5 Corvette with 411 pcm swap. Engine is a forged 408 with 9.5:1 compression, LS3 heads, with an LSA blower with 8.25" crank and 2.45" blower pulley. The most boost I've seen not even trying hard is 12 psi at 4k. IATs right at 100 degrees.

Car will hit the dyno next week Thursday. No idea what to expect really. I've heard some pretty wild guesses on power numbers. This dyno session is more importantly happening to see if we're gonna run out of fuel system. If it does, we'll regroup and try again.

Old 02-23-2023, 09:55 PM
TECH Addict

Received 38 Likes on 34 Posts

Expect your iat to be considerably higher than 100* when you actually start pushing it.
The following users liked this post:
Mr. Black (02-24-2023)
Old 02-24-2023, 06:37 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 186 Likes on 111 Posts

I could see north of 700 if your IAT's are in check and you don't suffer any belt slip.

While a bigger cam might make a few more HP, you're blower limited much more so than cam limited.