Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

Oil Leak at Oil Cap

Old 03-24-2008, 06:05 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Oil Leak at Oil Cap

Well I purchased this car over the past weekend and it has an STS turbo system on it. I saw that a little oil was leaking from a connection where the oill return line goes to the oil cap. Me and my friend re-tapped the oil cap and epoxied it and all and it did not leak. Took it for a drive and got into boost. Came home to see that the pressure pushed the oil cap up a little when in boost and cause for oil to spray out. So I got a new oil cap now and we are going to tap that one and see if it works.

You guys have any ideas or thoughts. I figured you guys may have some experience since I am new to the LS1 motor.
Old 03-24-2008, 06:18 PM
Teching In

After doing some research, is it better to just forget this whole concept and tap the oil pan? If so, what is the best way to do it and best tools to do it with? Obviously we dont want metal shavings in the oil pan and what not.
Old 03-24-2008, 07:53 PM
10 Second Club

what is your pcv system? it might need more venting under boost if it is pushing oil out of the cap...
Old 03-24-2008, 08:24 PM
Teching In

Originally Posted by RooRnZ28
what is your pcv system? it might need more venting under boost if it is pushing oil out of the cap...
I will check tomarrow after work. I am new to these turbo systems. I have had previous turbo'd cars so I am not completely blind. What is a negative way and positive way about doing the PCV system?

Any other opinons guys..........
Old 03-24-2008, 10:48 PM
TECH Regular

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The easiest way to fix that leaking oil cap is to remove the passenger side valve cover ,drill and tap it for a fitting ,clean and reinstall.attach your oil line to the new fitting and you are done .Go back to a regular oil cap.
Old 03-25-2008, 09:08 AM
10 Second Club

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts