Forced Induction Superchargers | Turbochargers | Intercoolers

hypothetical.... APS v. OFI v. Procharger

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2008, 07:55 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hypothetical.... APS v. OFI v. Procharger

Seems like these are the sought after FI kits out there nowadays ( TT v. single Turbo v. centrifugal SC). I am just learning about FI and have spent a few weeks or so trolling the section. I understand the pros/cons with supercharger v. turbocharges (i.e. lag v. belt slippage & parasitic-losses). I also sort of understand the difference between twin turbo v. single turbo (high end efficiency v. quick spool). Anyhow, I thought it would be interesting to throw a hypo out there to the experts and essentially encourage a discussion.

Assume your Goal is to build a street/strip car with 1000 rwhp + capable of chasing down 1000cc bikes on highway. You also want to enjoy the car so you want it to be a semi-reliable weekend car. The engine is a low compression LSX 454 (plenty of displacement for large turbos). Also, you already removed the A/C (no problem w/ APS overheating).

1) Which would be a more efficient/reliable kit?
2) What size/trim turbo(s)/head-unit would you go with?
3) What heads/intake would you run?

Finally, Why would you pick this setup over the others? All these setups should be capable of making the power. Why is one setup superior to the other?

Note: This is not trying to provoke a sponser war. More interested in the rational for choosing this kit over that kit rather than which kit is best.
Old 07-30-2008, 08:08 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

For what you want with those cubes......you'll need a big T6 charger or a big F1R blower. The APS would probably end up backpressure city...
Old 07-30-2008, 08:08 AM
TECH Enthusiast