Fueling & Injection Fuel Pumps | Injectors | Rails | Regulators | Tanks

Drag racing EFI vs. Carb

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 04:01 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drag racing EFI vs. Carb

I have done lots of research and reading on the topic of fuel injection vs carb. I understand the basics of each system and I really don’t want to start a surface level discussion with this thread. I want to compare these two fueling systems through a specific application and look at specific pros and cons.

My Application:
I currently have 6.0L LQ4 Short block that I am going to be putting in a street strip 69 Nova that currently has a carb’d SBC in it. I consider this car a street/strip car but it is really only a friday night occasional cruiser and at the track much more often. I guess where i’m heading is gas mileage isn’t a concern, driving it in the winter isn’t a concern since it stays in the garage all winter. Now being a mechanical engineer I really like data and logging and being able to tweak and tune myself as down the road, changes will be made to the motor and a NOS kit may be installed.

My current opinion
I think at the moment I am going to put a quick fuel carb on it with the new MSD box, and call it a day. Then down the road add 02 sensor monitoring/logging for tuning. This will give me the ability to tune the car myself and handle modifications to the engine and let’s not forget this is an easier swap as I can reuse my current fueling system.

Now deep down in my heart I really want to go fuel injection to get the logging capabilities and many of the features I want I am really looking at the Megasquirt 3 Pro. My fear with taking the plunge into FI is not being able to tune the car without paying a large dyno bill. This doesn’t sound like something I want to do everytime I make a motor modification or want to run a little binner nitrous shot. I feel like this will be a budget killer and really create an unnecessary snowball effect.