Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

installing a zexel torsen...

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2008, 03:43 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question installing a zexel torsen...

currently, i have an open diff w/ 3.08s. i want to install a zexel torsen. i just called a shop close to work and they want $435 for labor. does that sound right?

i would much rather do this myself, if i could - not only to save money, but i enjoy working on my car and typically do all (or almost all) of the work on it. i saw keliente's write-up and didn't see anywhere about keeping the same gears - i want to retain my 3.08s. is this an easy enough install, or should i have a shop do it? setting the backlash is my biggest worry.

i'm not a novice (definitely not a pro) - i just don't want to my zexel to become a cool looking paperweight.

Old 12-08-2008, 04:33 PM
TECH Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I did it on my Camaro. I had an open rear with 3.42's.

Got the Torsen, pulled the open diff out, pulled off the reluctor ring (3 channel ABS) and ring gear. Put them on the Torsen and put it in. You'll need a shim kit to install the different washers in to get the right backlash. If you are mechanically inclined, it is not that hard to do.
Old 12-08-2008, 04:35 PM
Banned

Changing just the diff is easy.
I'd never pay to have that done. You could buy a cheap dial indicator and a carrier bearing shim kit (aftermarket)
Most of the time I just 'feel' the before and after backlash, and end up buying nothing.
If you don't already know, the ring gear bolts are left hand thread
Old 12-08-2008, 05:22 PM
TDP
FormerVendor