Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Check my gear pattern

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2013, 08:38 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Check my gear pattern

So I picked up some used 410 gm gears and am installing them in my 10 bolt. This is my first time installing gears. It looks like I need to shim the pinion a little more.

Here are my drive and coast patterns. I am told that you do not have to worry about the "drive" on used gears. These have 30,000 miles and are out of an astro van.

Also, what should my backlash be set at?
Attached Thumbnails Check my gear pattern-1.jpg   Check my gear pattern-2.jpg   Check my gear pattern-coast.jpg   Check my gear pattern-coast-2.jpg  
Old 07-09-2013, 03:13 PM
TECH Addict

Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

IIRC backlash should be between .005-.009. I just finished up installing new motive 3.73s and it was .008
Old 07-09-2013, 08:17 PM
TECH Veteran

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I cant really tell much from the pics. It looks like the gear paint wasnt even touched or that its completely gone. Either way you want to shoot for a nice even pattern with depth about halfway on the tooth. The pattern on the drive side does matter but really on new gears, as the used ones have wear on the drive side so a used pattern can be off. Gm gears like to be run a little tight so I'd shoot for something in the .006 range.

Try to get a better pic and post again but this is an example of a good pattern.

https://ls1tech.com/forums/gears-axl...tern-pics.html
Old 07-10-2013, 09:49 PM
TECH Fanatic

Well i got it back together, set the backlash to .007. Its a real pain to set these up when you have to keep taking the bearing off. I made my a split bearing so it would slide off but the bearing wasnt in the best shape. I drove it around, its a little noisy, about the same as the other gears that were in it.