Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Drive shaft and dyno question.

Old 07-16-2013, 01:48 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drive shaft and dyno question.

car is an a4, H/C/I with a 2.73 rearend. should put low 400s HP down to the wheels.

Went to a highly reputable tuner this morning, and they would not put the car on the dyno cause it had a steel drive shaft and 2.73 gears. He said that if I had 3.43 gears I would have been fine, but that I needed to go get an aluminum shaft out of an m6 car.

this did not make to much sense to me, but I am still learning so I figured I would come here for an explanation.

Thanks
Old 07-16-2013, 06:47 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Did you ask why? Id be more scared of a aluminum driveshaft as far as breaking, then again a steel driveshaft is even more dangerous.
Old 07-18-2013, 05:04 AM
TECH Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

That sounds strange to me. That gear ratio means the ds will be turning slower which I would think would be less likely to fail. Plus the steel is stronger. Maybe they are fretting over the possible imbalance it might have that has a history of plaguing the oe shafts.
Old 07-18-2013, 05:31 AM
TECH Enthusiast

That's my first time hearing something like that. Subscribed to learn what you find out.
Old 07-18-2013, 11:25 AM
On The Tree

when I asked they told me "the dyno gets up to 140 plus which is too much for a steel DS, cause steel DSs have a lower torque rating than aluminum DSs. So it would snap the tail shaft and send it throgh the floor boards."
Old 07-18-2013, 12:52 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

No, that's *** backwards. Steel shaft and steeper gears
is how you overspin the driveshaft and crack trans tail
and/or pinion snout. There is no downside however to
getting an aluminum OE driveshaft in there (M6 or 3.23
A4 cars). They're not even expensive.
Old 07-18-2013, 03:54 PM
TECH Fanatic