Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Moser 9" spool in rain???

Old 11-16-2007, 07:14 PM
Launching!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Moser 9" spool in rain???

Anyone drive the cars with a spool in a rain storm??? how are they???
Also how are they on dry streets.

I am about to but a 9" 4 channel w/spool or locker. i have heared bad stuff of lockers making a hell of a racket back there???

I only drive about 2500 miles a year and the rest is on the track.

Please give me your ideas and thoughts

thanx
Old 11-16-2007, 07:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

suicide...my limited slip was scary in the rain with 450 hp and 3.73s so i dont see how a spool could make things better
Old 11-16-2007, 08:07 PM
TECH Regular

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a Detroit Locker and after it quieted down after the first 50 miles, I absolutely love it. Just put my 9" in 2 weeks ago so I am still learning it. Takes a little different driving style and it clunks every now and then but I wouldn't trade it for anything. I only put 3000 miles a year on my car and I will go to the strip on Friday nights. Good to know I have a stout unit.

As far as a spool goes, you will be wearing out tires if you do a lot of street driving and they are very dangerous when it rains. Lockers are dangerous as well but not near as bad.

I have had spools before but only for track only cars.

I am no expert but I don't think you can run a spool with abs and traction control.
Old 11-16-2007, 08:25 PM
TECH Enthusiast

I have a 9" with a spool and 4.33 gears have had no problems with it. I try not to drive it in the rain just because I don't like getting the car dirty, but I've had ZERO problems when I have driven in the rain. I guess to each their own.
Old 11-16-2007, 10:57 PM
10 Second Club

yeah if your getting a spool dont waist the money for the 4 channel because its not going to allow the abs to work properly
Old 11-17-2007, 05:07 AM
EPP
FormerVendor