Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

How much noise should come from stock rear end?

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2007, 06:06 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much noise should come from stock rear end?

Hello all,

I have a 2002 Camaro SS with an automatic transmission and 40,000 miles... it's all stock.

Maybe it's just my imagination, but it seems to me that my rear end is noisier than it used to be. It's not too bad, though, and nothing that I notice with the radio on. However, with the radio off, I definitely can hear a kind of deep whirring/rotation sound coming from the rear end. Is this normal? (My stock exhaust is pretty quiet, so it is not a factor in listening to the rear end noise.)

I have been monitoring the sound for 7 or 8 months now at least, and it doesn't seem to be getting any worse. I did have a little pinion seal leak about a year ago that I had my local dealership fix, but I didn't notice the sound until quite a while after that.

I am just wondering if others hear some noise from their stock rear ends (because if everyone else's is totally quiet, then I guess something is actually wrong with mine).
Old 12-02-2007, 06:12 PM
TECH Addict

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

my rear end makes allot of noise when i press the gas pedal all the way down.
Old 12-02-2007, 06:27 PM
Teching In

How about at normal "around town" driving speeds (35 - 50 mph)?
Old 12-02-2007, 08:31 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

well in every one of my freinds fbody including mine the stock rear end had made noise it sounded very light only at a certin throttle postions
but if your unsure you should have it checkd out by some with experince in rear diffs
i would say its probly nothing to worry about if it has noise part throttle/no throttle but at full throttle not so good
it really all depends we would have to hear it to give a good answer
Old 12-02-2007, 09:02 PM
TECH Resident