Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

Rear & spool & traction control ?'s

Old 05-31-2008, 06:25 AM
TECH Apprentice

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rear & spool & traction control ?'s

i've got a 2002 trans am ws6 m6 that i plan on doin a couple of bolt ons and sprayin it with a 100+ shot. I want slicks/dr's so i can plant my power to the ground and i know the stock rear is ***. I did my research and found that if you plan on launching hard with a m6 you need a 9" ok got that covered. talked to a couple of friends and i want to run a spool instead of a posi unit. now for the questions (spool is a deff. no talkin me out dont waste your time lol) and the car does have 4ch abs right? this is my first time really looking into it.
1.when i turn will the spool make my traction control kick on?(i dont think so because the tc is controlled by wheel speed sensors and only kicks on when the back wheels are spinning faster than the fronts right?)
2.where should i get my 9"?(i hear mix stories about moser i was leaning towards strange but I have no clue what other companies are out there? and im not trying to spend a rediculous amount of cash.)
3.is there anything specific, any upgrades i should look into when buying the rear?
4.the 9" is a direct swap?(i was reading about the s60 and everyone said its a cheaper rear but cost more in the end because the brake backing plates and new driveshaft you need.)

Im more than likely going to be swapping the rear myself so im looking for a direct swap. im just looking into insuring myself now because i love this car and WANT to keep it forever. and i know there's probably a million posts about this but i searched all i could and my searching is limited thanks to damn blockers on the work computer and my lap top slowly taking a crap on me so thanks for reading my long post and thanks for any and all information.
Old 05-31-2008, 09:52 AM
LS1TECH Sponsor