Gears & Axles Driveshafts | Rearends | Differentials | Gears | 12 Bolt | 9 Inch | Dana

just broke the rear end

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2008, 08:46 PM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default just broke the rear end

first off i am not a mechanic so if you could try to explain it as if i were a girl i would appreciate it. i have a 2001 camaro ss M6 bone stock and the rear gave today. im having it looked at tomorrow so i dont have much time to do much searches. i plan on adding a few bolt ons in the future, nothing to crazy tho. i was curious if its worth putting 4.10 gears in a DD car since it sounds like im gonna have to replace it. what can i expect from a stock car by adding this as far performance? gas mileage? driveability? overall noise? what can i expect to pay extra for the 4.10 gears? like i said im trying to research as much as possible but time is not on my side. what would you do? thanks in advance
Old 07-06-2008, 09:50 PM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by lefty2023
first off i am not a mechanic so if you could try to explain it as if i were a girl i would appreciate it. i have a 2001 camaro ss M6 bone stock and the rear gave today. im having it looked at tomorrow so i dont have much time to do much searches. i plan on adding a few bolt ons in the future, nothing to crazy tho. i was curious if its worth putting 4.10 gears in a DD car since it sounds like im gonna have to replace it. what can i expect from a stock car by adding this as far performance? gas mileage? driveability? overall noise? what can i expect to pay extra for the 4.10 gears? like i said im trying to research as much as possible but time is not on my side. what would you do? thanks in advance
All I will say is this plane & simple, don't skimp, don't waiste a dime on that 10 bolt, because you'll end up breaking it again, sooner then you antisipate, spend the $$$$ & get a Moser or strange 9" with the gears you want & be done.