General LSX Automobile Discussion Non-technical LSX related topics.

dyno tune vs frost tune

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2015, 06:38 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I got it for a good price, 2 I don't trust myself to try and port it
Old 09-02-2015, 06:42 PM
TECH Fanatic

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I don't care what anyone says there is no such thing as a "good" mail order tune it's not the way to do it. Unless your on a load dyno a dyno tune is pointless also. I don't even look at my wideband if i'm just messing around on the dyno because its going to want to pull fuel out on the rollers vs a load on the road. Proper way to tune it is on the street with street driving and wot pulls. Buy hp tuners or a standalone efi and learn how to do it yourself...or pay someone to remote tune it
Old 09-02-2015, 06:49 PM
Teching In

Default thank you

AutomagicLS1, Your post put a lot of things into prospective for me. Unfortunately being that I am just getting into f body's I have no clue who to contact about that.
Old 09-02-2015, 06:51 PM
TECH Senior Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts

Smile

i agree with automagic.

as far as where to get tuned check in your local section of this site.
Old 09-03-2015, 06:48 AM
9 Second Club

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

For mild bolt-ons and to get some of the engine lights shut off, there is nothing wrong with a mail order tune. Will it run at it's full potential? No. Will it matter in a bolt-on car? Well you aren't going to notice the 5-10 rwhp difference. Most mail order guys have done it enough to know what a combo will like to a certain extent. Obviously every car will react slightly different but it shouldn't be too drastic of a difference.

Once you start getting into internal mods, then yes, a good street tune or using a load dyno will be the best thing.
Old 09-03-2015, 07:44 AM
TECH Fanatic

Originally Posted by JJOHNROE