General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Fluid in the Exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2010, 04:19 PM
Staging Lane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Fluid in the Exhaust

Today I noticed a wet spot in the left tail pipe. It seemed to have a dirty oil like look which had me concerned, but I'm wondering if it's just condensation/build up.

Is it normal for the exhaust buildup to make a dirty liquid with the exhaust condensation?

It doesn't appear to be wet anywhere but right at the end of the tip. I just changed the oil last week and the car has been running fine.

I'm still learning the car so I just wanted to get some feedback.
Old 05-24-2010, 04:54 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Yes, the entire exhaust system will accumulate moisture (condensation) after you shut it down and starts to cool off.

Unless you have a modded engine with sleeves and you have a sleeve that is "dropping".

If your engine is stock...its condensation. If you are NOT lossing any coolant. If you are lossing coolant, you could have a cracked head I guess and coolant would get sucked into the exhaust. But you would probably have other undesirable symptoms as well.

Old 05-24-2010, 05:20 PM
Staging Lane

I have had to go through a bad head gasket on my beater, but the truck had a bad thermostat which caused it to start running warm which lead the problem.

This car runs real cool and I'd assume it would start missing at some point if it had a head gasket or head problem.
Old 05-24-2010, 05:42 PM
TECH Addict

Some moisture in the exhaust is a normal byproduct of any internal combustion engine.
Old 05-24-2010, 07:06 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Originally Posted by M3xpress
I have had to go through a bad head gasket on my beater, but the truck had a bad thermostat which caused it to start running warm which lead the problem.