General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Still stuck after VATS bypass NO START!

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2010, 02:28 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Still stuck after VATS bypass NO START!

First off im not really a newbie, but didnt know where to post this.I have a 01 WS6 that sat a month while I built my rear end and also did the drill mod since I always just ignored it and have had the tranny out 3x to build,LS7 cltch,new slave. I went to start it after doing the rear end and drill mod and the starter just clicked and security light flashed and dinged rapidly( like a slot machine hitting jack pot except for NO jack pot). I checked batt and tapped on starter sol, then remembered I had screwed the switch/relay for clutch pedal in about 3 threads when I did the drill mod to see if the pedal would not come up so high, so I turned it back 1or2 times and the car fired up and drove fine 15mi(2 days). Then it did it again and I wiggled the clutch switch/sensor and it then started and ran normal again for 70mi(4 days) but then the T/B collant line busted while driving and I got home quickly and let it cool and had to add 1 1/2gal to the radiator. My temp got to 230 and with my 160 thermo and being untuned it still never gets over 195. When I went to start the car it did the same thing again as the first 2x. This time wiggling wires etc. didnt work. I got pissed after I checked the batt,alt,str and all are within 6 months old and all good, I even had them all tested to double check even though my FLUKE meter dont lie to me ever lol. I did alot of reading and decided my key resistor was bad since I've only had 1 key and no key fob the 2 years I've owned the car. I did the VATS bypass, my key read 11.78-11.81k ohms so I soldered 3 resistors in line that equalled 11.79k ohm, I read it could be 11.46-12.22k ohms and desired was 11.81k ohms which the key #15 is made to. Well it started right up, I was very pleased, bu