General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

A/c turns on , car dies ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2011, 10:00 PM
Teching In

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/c turns on , car dies ?

So before I did all this , my car a/c ran , just did not blow cold air , just air itself . I had the idea to recharge it . So today I bought some recharging coolant crap . Followed the directions on the can , well its started to sqeaul as I added the coolant then died . This is with the A/C on full blast .

Now every time I turn the air on it dies and squeals .

Now does this indicate a bad compressor ? or clutch ? Or What
Old 08-01-2011, 10:20 PM
Banned

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

I'm pretty sure thats a clear sign that the compressor does not want to turn......its probably shot. Unless maybe its just a bad cluch binding up when its turned on and its stalling the engine. I'm not an AC expert by any means though.

Old 08-02-2011, 05:56 AM
Teching In

Originally Posted by LS6427
I'm pretty sure thats a clear sign that the compressor does not want to turn......its probably shot. Unless maybe its just a bad cluch binding up when its turned on and its stalling the engine. I'm not an AC expert by any means though.

Me either , But I woud think that if the compressor was shot then before I even charged it , it would of done the same thing . IDK though .
Old 08-02-2011, 06:06 AM
TECH Fanatic

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Could be the compressor but it could also be an issue with the PCV system. I recently had an issue with my Taurus where if I would put the AC on the idle rpms would surge and if I gave it gas at the low point it would die. We tried a recharge and it didn't fix it, ended up being that a rubber PCV elbow was getting sucked closed by vacuum and then expanding back out. Replaced that little elbow and now it works again.
Old 08-02-2011, 06:59 AM
Staging Lane