General Maintenance & Repairs Leaks | Squeaks | Clunks | Rattles | Grinds

Differential Cover Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2017, 10:24 AM
On The Tree

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Differential Cover Gasket

Hey everyone,

Back in January, I drained my rear end, put a new Gasket on, put the GM post fluid in, and filled the differential up with fluid. Since then, the cover has been leaking. When I put the Gasket on, I used RTV on the cover, and the housing, as I was told to do. When I asked the same person about it leaking, he said I probably should've just put it on one side (can't remember if he said housing or cover). As a GM dealership tech, I have access to online service manuals for GM cars, and when going through the cover Gasket procedure (after the fact), it made no mention of using rtv.

So, my question is, where do you think I went wrong? Could it of been that I used rtv, or put it where I shouldn't of? I have everything I need to do the same job again, so I want to make sure I do it right this time.

Thank you in advance
Old 05-22-2017, 10:32 AM
TECH Junkie

Received 345 Likes on 237 Posts

This is what I do and have never had a leak and have done it many many many times.....

I clean the sealing surfaces with a green Scotch Brite.
Then I put mega black oem gasket maker on the differential. Then I put some on the differential cover.
I use a gasket also, some don't but I do. Put the gasket on the cover then put it on and bolt it up but ONLY tighten the bolts finger tight and let it set for a half hour then bolt it down. Good to go

Old 05-22-2017, 12:19 PM
On The Tree